PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Help reverting back to windows....:(

bdws1975
January 16th, 2010, 05:07 PM
hi all,

I LOVE ubuntu and will never go back to windows. My wife however....

I made the mistake of installing ubuntu on her laptop without really asking. Now she's insisting that I put it back to windows. I tried to convince her otherwise, but she's dead set on it.

When I installed Ubuntu on hers I reformatted the HD and had linux take over the whole thing.

I tried to put my windows XP image disk in and it will not do anything. Please, please, please direct me to how to revert back. I'm still very new with computers so please make sure it's the 'for dummies' version.

thanks for your help,

Brett

mhgsys
January 16th, 2010, 05:34 PM
I guess the problem is that windows does not recognize the ext partitions ubuntu works with.

There's an easy solution for this, (maybe even in System> administration partition editor? on live cd>)

Anyway ;

Bootup a live cd of ubuntu , open a terminal (applications>accessories>terminal) and run

gksudo gparted

This will start up the Partition Editor
It will scan your disk(s) and will give you the option to delete all partitions so that the xp cd recognizes it as free space again, or you could make a ntfs partition wich you can edit with the Xp cd.

Leppie
January 16th, 2010, 05:58 PM
why didn't you make the machine dual boot? or does it have one of those old tiny disks (<40gb)?
linux mint (another ubuntu distro developed especially for transition from windows to linux) together with windows could be a nice transition?
if you're already repartitioning the disk, set up half for windows and the other half to install ubuntu and make it dual boot.

leorolla
January 16th, 2010, 06:16 PM
Yep, try Gparted.

You can even make an usb-bootable version of it.

Next time:
- ask your wife first
- make it dual boot
- test both boots a few times before you start really using it

Leppie
January 16th, 2010, 07:41 PM
Next time: