PDA

View Full Version : Hey I started a ride sharing website I'm looking for some feedback

thenetduck
January 16th, 2010, 02:09 AM
Hey
I created a website www.theridepool.com because I'm a college student and found that I was needed to find ride but didn't have a simple solution. This site will actually text message your phone when someone can find a ride with you.

I was looking for freedback on it? Also, I don't know how to do web marketing or anything like that but it would be nice if more people where using it. Does anyone know a good easy way to do this? I don't have a lot of money to promote it (I give Plasma for food money lol) but I guess I could give more haha..

Anyway if you have any suggestions etc, I'm looking for feedback! thanks ;)

- The Net Duck

tgalati4
January 16th, 2010, 05:18 AM
It's missing something. I'm not sure what it is.

Perhaps break it up, craigslist style. You could use the "tag cloud" feature to create a list of cities for origin and destination.

Also, you need a section for local travel--within a given city, especially when there is a trade show in town.

Marketing happens when the website works and engages the user and then that user shares his/her experience with others.

Craigslist is a good example of simple design that works. I've never seen advertising for it, yet everyone knows what it is and how to use it.

In a way, your website competes with craigslist's bulletin board. So, you have to distinguish your site with additional functionality.

Perhaps you could do a mash-up with google maps and your ride-finding service.

You could follow http://fossevents.org/ and then ask the event sponsors if you could include a link for your site to help coordinate rides for various FOSS events around the country. After a year of doing this, you will get both exposure and usability data.

user1397
January 16th, 2010, 05:34 AM
Hey