PDA

View Full Version : What printer to get?

blazemore
January 15th, 2010, 03:29 PM
I all,
I'm looking to buy a cheap inkjet printer. I'll really only be doing black & white printing, with the odd colour diagram.
Obviously it has to have proper Linux support, unlike my last printer a Lexmark.

I've heard HP have good Linux support, but their printers seem to be expensive.
I'm really looking to spend under £50 (~$80) if possible.

What printers do you guys have? What would you recommend?

Psumi
January 15th, 2010, 03:30 PM
HP is what I recommend, sorry. I have an Officejet 6500 wireless myself. (Some programs will force the printer to use color for some odd reason.)

blazemore
January 15th, 2010, 03:32 PM
Unfortunately I can't justify the cost. I'm an impoverished student whose printer has just broken.

gn2
January 15th, 2010, 03:33 PM
Definitely an HP, one with separate inktanks.

Here's a list to choose from: http://www.linuxprinting.org/printer_list.cgi?make=HP

john geary
January 15th, 2010, 03:36 PM
I use an Epson Stylus C62, cost £30 3yrs ago and it runs perfectly, colour photos are perfect as well

ThomasWM
January 15th, 2010, 03:42 PM
Go for a printer that will use 'counterfeit' cartridges.

I use an Epson 680, now elderly, and the inks are about a fifth of the price of the Epson, and are fine.

brookie
January 15th, 2010, 03:43 PM
I recommend Brother. I have a couple and the linux support is pretty good. Even got an old one to work with help on these forums.

Check this out: http://welcome.solutions.brother.com/bsc/public_s/id/linux/en/index.html

Hope this helps, and good luck finding a printer you like.

Methuselah
January 15th, 2010, 03:56 PM
As someone said, cross-reference the open printing database and a site like Amazon.
HP is usually said to have the best support but I have an Epson which works perfectly for printing and scanning.

Berk
January 15th, 2010, 04:12 PM