PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to remove C++

penguin5
January 15th, 2010, 07:52 AM
My recent attempts at making games work with Wine properly I managed to somehow install a lot of programs and files I do not think I need. I am also a ubuntu novice and I would like to know how to properly remove Microsoft Visual C++. Currently it shows that i have the 2005 C++ installed along with two different versions of 2008 versions as well. Unless I am not understanding something you only need one of those am I correct? When I go thorough the Add/Remove it gives me an error: PROGRAM ERROR the program msiexec.exe has encountered a serious problem and needs to close.

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks!

rusivi
August 10th, 2010, 05:22 PM
My recent attempts at making games work with Wine properly I managed to somehow install a lot of programs and files I do not think I need. I am also a ubuntu novice and I would like to know how to properly remove Microsoft Visual C++. Currently it shows that i have the 2005 C++ installed along with two different versions of 2008 versions as well. Unless I am not understanding something you only need one of those am I correct? When I go thorough the Add/Remove it gives me an error: PROGRAM ERROR the program msiexec.exe has encountered a serious problem and needs to close.

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks!

As you have experienced, Wine is a work in progress with certain applications and functionality.

The clean uninstall functionality your looking for is not fully realized in Wine (and Windows for that matter but that's a different topic for a different post) so you have to "engineer" it.