PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Ubuntu 9.10 With XP installed first.

JoeyTrez
January 15th, 2010, 06:34 AM
Hi, I'm sorry if this sounds totally noobish etc, but I am extremely new to Ubuntu.

My friend just helped me re-install XP onto my computer since it was totally bombed.
I want to install Ubuntu with about 25 gigs of space so I can have it as a sorta "backup" and use it for some other things.

The thing is that I'm having trouble with the partitioning.
I know I need to clear up space on my NTFS hard drive thing (70 something gigs) to make room for Ubuntu.

The problem is that it does not allow me to make room. I know I have to boot from the Iso CD, and I have no problem with that. But I know that at a certain point there SHOULD be a slider do-hickey to clear however much room I want. But it never shows up. It says there are 3 partitions:
1) a 31 GB "Dell Utility" thing
2) the 70 gig XP partition.
3) and some other 8 MB one.

I know I have to edit the second one to make room for it, but I never can.

I also tried going to the "try ubuntu without changes" and doing it through the Gparted partition editor, but no dice. It says something about how there is 1 bad sector. Im pretty sure it has something to do with that, but I have NO idea how to fix it.

Any general help at would be immensely appreciated. If you need any more info, I'd be glad to post it. Thanks.

-Joey

darkod
January 15th, 2010, 12:28 PM
You did correct with Try Ubuntu and trying to use Gparted to resize your XP partition. Just one important note: after you do the resize make sure you boot XP few times to make sure it's happy with the resize and to do its disk checks. Otherwise it may create more problems down the line.