PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Ubuntu/Linux install problems with RAID

xiainx
January 15th, 2010, 06:26 AM
The story: I've tried to install Ubuntu / Kubuntu several times now (at least 10), and everytime I've had a problem. Here's the situation, I have Windows 7 installed on my machine right now, and I don't want to remove it for a couple of reasons: I play games sometimes, there are still some things in Windows that I do need (yes, NEED). That said, I want to use a linux distro on my machine (I'm a software engineering student, so I kind of need it...). Ubuntu seems like a good distro, and I might also try Fedora or something in the future.

The problem: When I try to install Ubuntu/Kubuntu, I arrive at the partition screen (after shrinking my Windows partition by a generous amount), and the installer does not see that I have Windows 7 installed. It gives me the choice to either: install on the entire disk, or specify my partitions manually. So, I said alright, not a problem, I'll just use Wubi. Well, I got it to install alright, and was really excited to start using it. I rebooted my machine into Ubuntu. The screen showed black with the lights blinking (to indicate it was powered on). I waited a while, still black. I tried restarting it, I tried waiting 2 hours, it wouldn't move past this black screen. Looks like Wubi doesn't work either. What could possibly be the problem???

The machine: Dell XPS M1730, Intel T9300 (I've been trying to get 64 bit thus far, as it works fine for Windows), NVidia GFX card, 4 GB RAM, 320 GB drive.