PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Automatic Mount of NAS

rbscairns
January 14th, 2010, 03:05 AM
I am very new to Linux, using Ubuntu 9.10 and enjoying the experience.

My Ubuntu computer is connected to my WLAN. On this WLAN, I also have a network attached storage (NAS) FreeBSD with FreeNAS. My current method to connect to the NAS must be done each time I log in to Ubuntu and consists of-

Places > Network - displaying the network:/// file browser.
Double click the NAS icon - displaying the smb://nas.local/ file browser.
Double click the Data icon - displaying the smb://nas.local/data/ file browser, mounts the drive and places a "data on nas.local" icon on the desktop.

I then close the file browser and, whenever I want to access the data on my NAS, double click the desktop icon to access the contents of my NAS.

What I would like to do is have this whole process automated so that it occurs at my login and I don't have to go through the process with each login.

Is this possible and how can it be done?

kellemes
January 14th, 2010, 05:58 PM
Is this possible and how can it be done?
Yes, possible indeed..

This is one of my entries in /etc/fstab for connecting to a Synology ds207+ NAS Device

//<IP_TO_NAS>/shared_folder /mnt/myfolder cifs user,uid=1000,rw,suid,credentials=/etc/credentials 0 0

The shared_folder is the location on the NAS you need to have mounted, not sure how this works with your specific NAS.

You need to create folder /mnt/myfolder (name it as you wish)..
From terminal-window, like so..

sudo mkdir /mnt/myfolder

Where /etc/credentials is a file holding login-data for the NAS... (again, name it as you wish)
Syntax:

username=john
password=mypassword

Create it from terminal-window like so..

gksudo gedit /etc/credentials

You need to have "smbfs" installed afaik.
So..

sudo apt-get install smbfs

Morbius1
January 14th, 2010, 06:39 PM
You've got three choices as I see it.