PDA

View Full Version : New How-To guide for Ubuntu 10.04, How about a new layout for the Forum?

tom.swartz07
January 13th, 2010, 10:01 PM
Just as a thought- perhaps with the new Ubuntu Guide coming out, we could re-organize the forums here. Everyone seems to have their own 'special guides' and are very knowledgeable about certain aspects. Perhaps we could shuffle things around so that one doesnt have to dig into peoples signatures for helpful guides- we could just make an area of the forums for how-to's, and feature it on the Beginners board.

I thought of this today as I was looking at a thread about Grub configs. Drs305 seems to be a veritable genius when it comes to Grub2 configs. I have some great experience walking through Ubuntu installation/Dual Boots and getting grub to work with them... Im sure still others have expertise in other areas.

What if we made a How-To board, so that beginners could 'self-help' themselves to get through. It could be plain, laymans terms- many times ive seen people scared by the ubuntu documentation, just because its so verbose.

What do you guys think?

ugm6hr
January 13th, 2010, 11:05 PM
I started a How-To stick for beginners some time ago http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=801404

However, keeping the links up-to-date is very difficult. The same applies to most of the Ubuntu documentation projects everywhere.

These days, we try and encourage users to use the community wiki - at l east the wiki format ensures that maintaining the information contained within https://help.ubuntu.com/community

fancypiper
January 13th, 2010, 11:10 PM
I still have trouble re-finding a howto. The BBS search function isn't the best in the world. I get better results searching google than with the BBS search.

sdowney717
January 13th, 2010, 11:16 PM
there is so much searchable old information on the net that either never worked, or no longer works. It is quite tough and wearying to sort it out.

MasterNetra
January 14th, 2010, 12:17 AM