View Full Version : [ubuntu] Making video from Cinelerra to upload to youtube

January 13th, 2010, 03:57 AM
Hi I have been experimenting with Cinelerra, Kino and Avidemux for a few months now after doing a Final Cut pro course and i make little videos to put on youtube but can't seem to get something smaller than the original file. What am i missing? I have tried a small frame size but that cuts some of the picture down at the sides/top in Cinelerra. I am finding it hard to find any info on this either googling or in Cinelerra tutorials.
I will start out with a file that is a dv because i captured in Kino from my camera and it is 1.5gb then whatever i render it as in Cinelerra is is huge. I have battled with this forever. Is there a way of putting a youtube preset in Cinelerra so that the file is what i need for uploading to youtube?

January 13th, 2010, 04:00 AM
Actually the easiest and best tool for uploading to youtube is Handbrake, Cinelerra is good for editing like Adobe Premiere but for a simple task of youtube, Handbrake with its easier interface does the job much better. Since you have checked out other editors as well, I also suggest you try out Handbrake and Open Shot, the later is excellent editor as well.

January 13th, 2010, 05:47 AM
Thanks but i had handbrake on the previous install of Ubuntu and got nowhere. I couldn't figure it out either.
I have never used Adobe premiere so i have no reference there.
Haven't heard of openshot. Might try it one day but i prefer to see if i can get these apps working for me.
Ever other piece of editing things in those apps i mention works fine ...it is just when i go to render it is not happening for me.

January 13th, 2010, 01:56 PM

You will have to render your final video into dv format at first.
DV format has fixed size and framerate: 720x576 at 25fps for DV PAL. (I don't know for NTSC).