PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Small Complaint regarding Ubuntu.

wizarddrummer
January 12th, 2010, 08:16 PM
Guys,
I am a computer pro and I am having a problem with the installation process. Other people who are less proficient with computers may be having the same problem and it's turning them off. (I used to be a UNIX guru in the early 80's; witnessed the birth of Linux and a lot of other s##t.)

My problem is that I have not used a "CD" type of media in more than 5 years. I burn everything to DVD. I have not had much need for CD based iso's.

I have Nero and several other burning packages.

My complaint is that other than the CD iso for Ubunto with the pretty download button I can not find any other download option. If I were the folks responsible for the website I would have some provision for a) linking to a DVD iso version or b) what to do if you want to install and you do not have a CD etc.

If a DVD iso exists can anyone please point me to it? The other option is a free burning utility that can map a CD iso it to a DVD correctly.

I downloaded the iso.

I have made a DVD image, but when I select the option to install it Ubunto comes back saying it can't' read it and wants to reboot.
Ubunto's Detect CD errors also fails.

Thanks,

wd

PS
Nero:
comes back with: "The entered block size does not correspond to the image length. The block size may be
wrong. Do you want to correct the value or ignore the problem." (I don't know what to tell it to make it correct)

Free Easy Burner:
Creates the dvd, you can see the file structure but Ubunto can't boot.

howefield
January 12th, 2010, 08:21 PM
Guys

Only males in your world, is there ?

My complaint is that other than the CD iso for Ubunto with the pretty download button I can not find any other download option.

ubuntu.com and click on the "Alternative download options, including Ubuntu installer for Windows", funnily enough.