PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Changing focus in FF and TB



dunbrokin
January 12th, 2010, 07:31 AM
When I click on a link in TB, it is opened in FF in a new tab - this is good....however focus is switched to this new tab....I want focus to remain on the originating page (the same thing happens when I click on a link in a tab in FF)....how do I keep the focus on the original page in both FF and TB.

Thanks

KIAaze
January 12th, 2010, 10:49 AM
In Firefox:
Edit->Preferences->Tabs->"When I open a link in a new tab, switch to it immediately"

Uncheck it.

dunbrokin
January 12th, 2010, 10:53 AM
In Firefox:
Edit->Preferences->Tabs->"When I open a link in a new tab, switch to it immediately"

Uncheck it.

That was my first idea.....but it was unchecked already!!!

KIAaze
January 12th, 2010, 11:07 AM
Sorry, you're right, it doesn't help. :oops:

Maybe one of these links can help you:
http://kb.mozillazine.org/About:config_entries ('http://kb.mozillazine.org/About:config_entries') (interesting, link only works if copy/pasted, not when clicked...)
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Command_line_arguments

whitethorn
January 12th, 2010, 11:27 AM
Try middle clicking on the link instead of left click.

aktiwers
January 12th, 2010, 11:29 AM
Middle-click or CTRL+mouse-click

or type about:config in the addressbar and search for browser.tabs.loadInBackground

and set it to "true".

Look here for more configurations
http://www.mvps.org/dmcritchie/firefox/tabs_config.htm

dunbrokin
January 12th, 2010, 11:33 AM
Sorry, middle click or CTRL +click do not give the expected result....they cause the same effect as the normal click i.e. focus transferred to the new tab.

dunbrokin
January 12th, 2010, 10:35 PM
bump!

aktiwers
January 13th, 2010, 06:54 AM
Did you look at the link I posted above?

dunbrokin
January 13th, 2010, 07:43 AM
Ooops sorry....missed that.

dunbrokin
January 13th, 2010, 07:50 AM
Middle-click or CTRL+mouse-click

or type about:config in the addressbar and search for browser.tabs.loadInBackground

and set it to "true".

Look here for more configurations
http://www.mvps.org/dmcritchie/firefox/tabs_config.htm

Browser.tabs.loadInBackgroun = true did not work.

I will browse through your link to see if I can find anything there.

dunbrokin
January 13th, 2010, 08:00 AM
I think it must be a bug...I am using Swiftfox 3.5.7 and have tried the following to no avail.

browser.tabs.loadDivertedInBackground;true
browser.tabs.loadInBackground;true

So while these may work on FF, the do not seem to work on SF.

KIAaze
January 13th, 2010, 10:18 AM
I can confirm that "browser.tabs.loadDivertedInBackground;true" works in Mozilla Firefox 3.5.3. (installed from 9.10 repositories).

dunbrokin
January 13th, 2010, 10:51 AM
Thanks.