PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] uTorrent + wine -- help??

enjoytrees
January 12th, 2010, 03:30 AM
So I went ahead and installed Wine, no problems there, then tried to download uTorrent 1.8.5 from the uTorrent website. Tried to run the program, produced an error message LOOSELY along the lines of: "uTorrent is still running. Close other instances of uTorrent".

Help :(

Nicolas.Perrault
January 12th, 2010, 03:32 AM
Hehe, I'm not particularly experienced with Ubuntu, might even say I'm a newbie. But wouldn't be simpler to use Ktorrent or Transition, two bittorrent clients for KDE and GNOME.? :)

Gen2ly
January 12th, 2010, 03:33 AM
So I went ahead and installed Wine, no problems there, then tried to download uTorrent 1.8.5 from the uTorrent website. Tried to run the program, produced an error message LOOSELY along the lines of: "uTorrent is still running. Close other instances of uTorrent".

Help :(

Try this from the terminal enjoytrees:

ps aux | grep wine

and look for 'wine... utorrent'. If any instances of utorrent/wine are running you'll have to close them first. You can kill the processes by 'kill PID'. The PID is what is listed in the second column.

Like the nick, btw ;).

enjoytrees
January 12th, 2010, 03:37 AM
Try this from the terminal enjoytrees:

ps aux | grep wineand look for 'wine... utorrent'. If any instances of utorrent/wine are running you'll have to close them first. You can kill the processes by 'kill PID'. The PID is what is listed in the second column.

Like the nick, btw ;).

hehehe thanks :).

Tried "ps aux | grep wine", and it produced the following:

jackson 2032 0.0 0.0 4780 2156 ? Ss 20:25 0:00 /usr/bin/../lib32/../bin/wineserver
jackson 2037 0.0 0.0 3695412 3276 ? Sl 20:25 0:00 C:\windows\system32\winedevice.exe MountMgr
jackson 2204 0.0 0.0 7336 876 pts/0 R+ 20:35 0:00 grep --color=auto wine

It doesn't look like it's open?

daimaru
January 12th, 2010, 04:23 AM