PDA

View Full Version : Best IDE for C++

Namesake
January 11th, 2010, 11:15 PM
Hi all,

I am just getting into programming with C++, and have programmed in JAVA and FORTRAN before. What do you recommend is the most user friendly IDE for C++ on Ubuntu Karmic?

I have already installed C++ and other things with this command line:
sudo apt-get install build-essential

Thanks for the help

Iowan
January 12th, 2010, 12:20 AM
This (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1371120) might help - another thing on my To-Do list...

Sef
January 12th, 2010, 12:29 AM
Moved to Programming Talk.

Queue29
January 12th, 2010, 01:41 AM
Eclipse-cdt or Monodevelop are going to be #'s 1 and 2 for IDE's, but get ready for fanboi responses telling you to use vim and/or emacs.

pbrane
January 12th, 2010, 01:52 AM
You might also take a look at Anjuta.

Firestom
January 12th, 2010, 02:20 AM
I'd reccomend Code::Blocks. The IDE is in Ubuntu's repositories and you can install it by using this command:
sudo apt-get install codeblocks

not_a_phd
January 12th, 2010, 04:45 AM
If you are leaning toward lightweight - geany.
If you like java induced pain but a full featured IDE - eclipse.
If you are looking for an up and comer with some polish - qtcreator.

Namesake
January 12th, 2010, 08:16 AM
Thanks for all the suggestions team!

I have decided to go with EclipseIDE. After some research, it seems that many people have trouble getting it too run well. Should I follow the advice of the Ubuntu community given in this link for Karmic:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/EclipseIDE

korvirlol
January 12th, 2010, 08:23 AM
the only IDE you need is linux

SunSpyda
January 12th, 2010, 06:58 PM
Minimalism = Vim, and the build tools
Similarity with VC++ = MonoDevelop
Tons of clever features = GNU Emacs and the build tools
Lots of support and popular = Eclipse
Quite fast, and built for C++ = Code::Blocks