PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 9.10 will not install beyond dsktop

photogolfer
January 11th, 2010, 10:20 PM
:(Hello all,
I am new to Ubunto, although I did get a copy of Ubuntu 8.10 on a magazine cover disc. That didn't load on to any of my three machines so I gave up on it. However, things change and recently there arose the need to try again so I downloaded 9.10 iso and burned that to disc. That didn't work either even though I used the verify disc option. I tried a version from a different mirror and that didn't work. I then discovered a xubuntu 9.40 for amd64 ( my main machine has Athlon 64 3200 cpu ) and that doesn't work on any of my machines. I have a KVM switch and thought that might be getting in the way so took that out to no avail.
More or less the same thing happens all the time - I try the first option of trying the os before installing it but each time it gets as far as the desk top then stalls so that the mouse pointer doesn't respond nor does the keyboeard.
After several downloads I will stick with Ubuntu 9.10 from a USA mirror for the time being. The computer boots from the disc, I select English Language, then 'try before installing'. Installation halts on the orange desktop where the mouse pointer and keyboard stop responding. Whilst loading the desktop the pointer does move briefly. Then I have to reboot the machine to Windows.

I have Windows XP Home Edition service pack 3. AMD Athlon 64 3200+ cpu on a Gigabyte K8NF-9 motherboard. 512 mb memory,Samsung SP0812C hdd with 10.5Gb free space, NEC ND-4550A DVD writer and Lite-on SOHD-16P9SV CD-ROM. I have an Epson printer and Canon scanner plus an external hdd connected by usb all of them turned off during 'installation'. I also have a Netlinker USB connection to a second XP machine which is turned off when I try to load Ubunto. It is actully on that machine that I really want to install Ubunto but installation fails there as well.