PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] My laptop screen dims even when the option is disabled.

Pawbla
January 11th, 2010, 09:24 PM
I am on Ubuntu Studio 9.04, and I have an oldish Toshiba laptop. I've disabled screen dimming as I don't know how to get it bright again (tried multiple things but no luck). Also I have no use for it since my battery does not work so it has to be on AC power to work.
I was wondering if anybody could help me to disable this? I've tried with the gnome power manager but no luck.
Or you could tell me how to brighten it again o.o. I've always used desktop PCs (I'm kinda new to this laptop) but as far as I remember when I've used laptops the power button used to brighten the screen? Or does Ubuntu have some weird key combo to brighten it? I feel so stupid not knowing xD.

warfacegod
January 11th, 2010, 09:52 PM
On my Toshiba Satellite P25-s607 holding Fn (between Ctrl and Alt) and tapping F6 dims the screen, Fn F7 will brighten. Remember, LCDs will slowly grow dimmer over the years and lose vibrancy. You may not be able to get it any brighter.

Pawbla
January 11th, 2010, 09:56 PM
That is not the problem. The problem is with the screen dimming that supposedly is for saving power. I'm perfectly okay with the normal brightness, though, but my Fn key seems to do nothing with brightness (whether it's brighten or dim). Thanks for your suggestion, anyways (:

J V
January 11th, 2010, 09:57 PM
Just throwing this out here: Screensaver?

Pawbla
January 11th, 2010, 10:04 PM
Screensaver what? You think it's my screensaver?