PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Network Printer Adding



Psumi
January 11th, 2010, 04:28 PM
Just wanted to know how I would go about adding a printer to my lpoptions if lpoptions doesn't know the printer is there.

I backed up my /etc/cups as per another thread, but copying all of it back over to my current /etc/cups doesn't do anything at all.

Also, how do I start the hplip service? sudo start hplip doesn't do anything.

Also, I'd rather not resort to using a GNOME Application to deal with this, GNOME 3 is coming, and I don't want anything to do with it, so I need to know how to do this myself.

Temposs
January 11th, 2010, 04:38 PM
You know you don't have to upgrade your GNOME when GNOME 3 comes out, if you don't want to...Ubuntu 9.10 will not be upgrading to GNOME 3 at all, in fact.

Psumi
January 11th, 2010, 04:40 PM
You know you don't have to upgrade your GNOME when GNOME 3 comes out, if you don't want to...Ubuntu 9.10 will not be upgrading to GNOME 3 at all, in fact.

Of course not, but in 11.04, it will have it. I will be using 10.04 mini.iso once more before that. I don't wish to fall behind in versions either.

Psumi
January 15th, 2010, 03:33 PM
Bump

Psumi
January 20th, 2010, 05:49 PM
Bump

Morbius1
January 20th, 2010, 07:07 PM
I don't know if this will help you but you could use CUPS itself:

Open your favorite browser and enter: localhost:631

Select "adding printers" > Add printer

It's independent of any desktop environment.

Psumi
January 20th, 2010, 11:20 PM
I don't know if this will help you but you could use CUPS itself:

Open your favorite browser and enter: localhost:631

Select "adding printers" > Add printer

It's independent of any desktop environment.

I'll try that next time I'm on xfce.

Psumi
January 23rd, 2010, 07:33 AM
Yep, works :3

Now I can print from firefox without having to go through all that gnome jazz.

SimonBishop
September 21st, 2011, 04:02 AM
Nice One, Morbius1!!=D>