PDA

View Full Version : Hardest c++ question ever!

Jonasu
January 10th, 2010, 03:45 AM
Well.. It might be.. and it might not be..

The last 3 or 4 hour's I've been googlin' for an "relative easy" question to answer. Maybe I'm just a google noob, but I've also been asking the same question in 2-3 forums.. and no one can solve my problem..

What I want to obtain is the size of a file.. That shouldn't be so hard should it? Well, the problem is that the file is already in use (it is in a download progress, witch means it is not the full file).

In Windows (or in any other OS), you can just rightclick on the file to get the current size in bytes, not the size on disk, not the full file size.. but the current filesize in bytes.

I got one code so far:

#include <iostream>
#include <sys/stat.h>

using namespace std;
int main()
{
struct stat st;
stat("lal.txt", &st);
cout<<st.st_size;
return 0;
}

Well.. it works somehow.. but it only gives me the current size on the disk!! I do NOT want that.. I just want the current file size!! Why is this so damn hard!?

So pleas.. if anyone know how to solve this, I would be really happy and thankful! :o

wmcbrine
January 10th, 2010, 04:45 AM
Well.. it works somehow.. but it only gives me the current size on the disk!! I do NOT want that.. I just want the current file size!!The difference escapes me.

lisati
January 10th, 2010, 04:48 AM
the difference escapes me.

+1 :)

iponeverything
January 10th, 2010, 05:19 AM
Well.. It might be.. and it might not be..

The last 3 or 4 hour's I've been googlin' for an "relative easy" question to answer. Maybe I'm just a google noob, but I've also been asking the same question in 2-3 forums.. and no one can solve my problem..

What I want to obtain is the size of a file.. That shouldn't be so hard should it? Well, the problem is that the file is already in use (it is in a download progress, witch means it is not the full file).