PDA

View Full Version : PHP / MySql

sprouty
January 9th, 2010, 11:42 PM
Hi

I'm trying to log IP-Address into a table through php. I have written the below code, but theres got to be a better way of doing it. I'm new to php/mysql so i would be very grateful for any pointers and ways to improve the code.

Many Thanks,

Sprouty

$query = "SELECT count(id) FROM IPS where IP = '$ip' limit 1";
$result = mysql_query($query) or die ("Could not check ip");
$row = mysql_fetch_array($result);
$count = $row[0];
if ($count == 0 ){
//Insert into database
$query = "INSERT INTO IPS (IP,FirstDate) VALUES ('$ip','$date')";
mysql_query($query) or die ("Could not insert ip");
}
//Return IP Id
$query = "SELECT id FROM IPS where IP = '$ip' limit 1";
$result = mysql_query($query) or die ("Could not check IP id");
$row = mysql_fetch_array($result);
$Idip = $row[0];
print "ip id == $Idip";

Finalfantasykid
January 9th, 2010, 11:46 PM
Why do you check to see if the IP is already in the table?

Is this for a unique hits tracker?

sprouty
January 9th, 2010, 11:48 PM
Yes, the table is for logging unique IPs

Finalfantasykid
January 10th, 2010, 12:04 AM
If you are tracking the unique IP's per day, should you then not have the first query also check the date?

sprouty
January 10th, 2010, 10:57 AM
I'm not tracking unique ips over a day. I'm tracking them over the life time of the website

cheers,

Sprouty

The Secret
January 10th, 2010, 02:47 PM
Why do you need the IPs ID ?

$ip = $_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR'];
$date = time();

$query = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM tracker WHERE ip='$ip' LIMIT 1") or die(mysql_error());
if (mysql_num_rows($query) == 0) {
$insert = mysql_query("INSERT INTO tracker (ip, date) VALUES ('$ip', '$date')") or die(mysql_error());
}

echo "IP: $ip <br />";

Hellkeepa
January 10th, 2010, 06:19 PM
HELLo!