PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] how to boot into ubuntu using command line?



redace25
January 9th, 2010, 09:45 PM
Hi,

I used LVPM and this guide (http://lubi.sourceforge.net/lvpm.html) to transfer my wubi ubuntu installation to a new partition. The problem I am now having is that I cannot boot into ubuntu because the bootloader is not setup properly. I know this because I was able to boot into ubuntu fine after transferring it to a separate partition.So I uninstalled wubi from windows xp and now I can't boot into ubuntu. I know I installed it properly because setup (hd0,2) is successful. When i enter the boot command it says "Kernel must be loaded before booting". So, if anyone can help me with how to boot into ubuntu using command line and then how to fix the bootloader, I will be very grateful.

sisco311
January 9th, 2010, 09:57 PM
if you are using grub2:


insmod ext2
set root=(hd0,2)
linux /boot/vmlinuz-<hit tab to auto-complete> root=/dev/sda2 ro quiet splash
initrd /boot/initrd.img<hit tab to auto-complete>
boot


https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2

if you are using grub legacy:

root (hd0,2)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-<hit tab to auto-complete> root=/dev/sda3 ro quiet splash
initrd /boot/initrd.img<hit tab to auto-complete>

nick_goodfate
January 9th, 2010, 10:02 PM
Hi,

I used LVPM and this guide (http://lubi.sourceforge.net/lvpm.html) to transfer my wubi ubuntu installation to a new partition. The problem I am now having is that I cannot boot into ubuntu because the bootloader is not setup properly. I know this because I was able to boot into ubuntu fine after transferring it to a separate partition.So I uninstalled wubi from windows xp and now I can't boot into ubuntu. I know I installed it properly because setup (hd0,2) is successful. When i enter the boot command it says "Kernel must be loaded before booting". So, if anyone can help me with how to boot into ubuntu using command line and then how to fix the bootloader, I will be very grateful.
i think this can help you too...
http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.php/t-24113.html

nick_goodfate
January 9th, 2010, 10:05 PM
if you are using grub2:


insmod ext2
set root=(hd0,2)
linux /boot/vmlinuz-<hit tab to auto-complete> root=/dev/sda2 ro quiet splash
initrd /boot/initrd.img<hit tab to auto-complete>
boot


https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2

if you are using grub legacy:

root (hd0,2)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-<hit tab to auto-complete> root=/dev/sda3 ro quiet splash
initrd /boot/initrd.img<hit tab to auto-complete>

hi sisco311 ! can you explain what this code does ? i m new in linux... i dont need it now , just to know... thnx !

sisco311
January 9th, 2010, 10:14 PM
hi sisco311 ! can you explain what this code does ? i m new in linux... i dont need it now , just to know... thnx !

community/Grub2#Rescue Mode

nick_goodfate
January 9th, 2010, 10:57 PM
thank u for the reply !!

redace25
January 10th, 2010, 12:57 AM
if you are using grub2:


insmod ext2
set root=(hd0,2)
linux /boot/vmlinuz-<hit tab to auto-complete> root=/dev/sda2 ro quiet splash
initrd /boot/initrd.img<hit tab to auto-complete>
boot
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2

if you are using grub legacy:

root (hd0,2)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-<hit tab to auto-complete> root=/dev/sda3 ro quiet splash
initrd /boot/initrd.img<hit tab to auto-complete>


Thanks sico311, now I am going to work on fixing the bootloader