PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Everything seems right, but no wireless network detected

Mitchgo
January 9th, 2010, 09:16 AM
I recently purchased a new windows system, So I turned my old system into the new Ubuntu 9.1 . I'm new to ubuntu and linux in general but I'm a resourceful person.

My issue is that I do not see a wireless network available after going to System>Admin>Network> Wireless

I have a PCI Airlink AWLH4030 wireless card.
The Support list states this card works fine 'out of the box'
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HardwareSupportComponentsWirelessNetworkCardsAirli nk101#PCI

Before I post the rest of the info I want to say that My router is upstairs and my computer is downstairs. I can take my laptop downstairs and receive full bars. I also just fixed a friends computer and used the computer set up downstairs- I used the same Airlink card that I have in the ubuntu system in his computer and I had full bars wirelessly.

Because I can't figure out how to read a ubuntu text document on a windows I'm posting pictures of the sudo lshw -C network, Iwconfig, Ifconfig and a picture of the network connections> wireless.

Also using the wireless trouble shooting
https://help.ubuntu.com/8.10/internet/C/troubleshooting.html
After doing the Sudo lshw -c it says You should see an output, along with the words "CLAIMED, UNCLAIMED, ENABLED or DISABLED"

I don't see any of these anywhere.

I also attempted to manually enter in my network using the router's wireless information. I'm not sure what a BSSID is but after some research it seems to be the same as the mac address for the router? ( I made these the same) I entered in the information in correctly with no success

Thank you in advance for helping.

chili555
January 9th, 2010, 01:32 PM