PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Kubuntu 9.10 freezes whenever downloading

Tturbo
January 9th, 2010, 06:33 AM
Ok, I'm completely new to Kubuntu and Linux in general, a friend convinced me to start using Kubuntu and like I was tempted I installed it...

I think it's needed to know, that I installed it on a notebook (recent) that came with vista 32 bits which I changed later for seven, 32 bits too. I gave a 20 Go partition for Kubuntu 9.10 64 bits. :???:

Now that Kubuntu is installed I tried to upgrade the OS (using th command line: sudo apt-get update (then upgrade)). But every time it starts downloading something after a certain percentage (random one actually) the entiere OS freezes! Impossible to move even the cursor of my mouse, it's stuck on the desktop, I can't do anything else then shut down the computer... I later tried installing software such as Firefox or Pidgin, using sudo apt-get install Firefox (then Pidgin) and the same problem occured.
If someone could help me somehow, I talked about it with my friend, he helped me install too, and he doesn't know what's happening... Apart from that the basic Kubuntu (without upgrade, without drivers or software other than the basic) works, at least I think, I tried it a little and it was working...
So I'll be waiting if someone can help me...:(

WindPower
January 9th, 2010, 06:37 AM
I happen to be the friend mentioned in the above post, and would like to add that it's indeed a hard freeze, not just an interface freeze; can't switch TTY's with Ctrl+Alt+F1-F6, can't move mouse, screen is frozen, hard drive and CD stop spinning. It happens whenever apt-get is downloading packages.
This prevents installations and upgrades, and it's really hard to fix anything without being able to do that... :(