PDA

View Full Version : Wouldn't it be nice if...

Roasted
January 9th, 2010, 03:01 AM
There was some sort of crazy boot program that would allow users to put any bootable ISO file onto a flash drive and have them multi boot at the splash screen?

I'm looking at it like this. I use quite a few LiveCDs. I utilize several different Linux operating systems... whether it's out of curiosity reasons or to try them out to see if they're worthy to install at work.

I'm cleaning up my case of CDs I use at work. I work in tech so I have all sorts of troubleshooting stuff here, not to mention anytime a new Fedora, openSuSE, Mandriva, BackTrack, Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Xubuntu, etc etc comes out, I bring a new copy of it to work.

It would be so nice to just have some sort of crazy boot loading flash drive that's like 32gb in size and I could just toss whatever bootable iso to it I wanted.

Imagine having one flash drive to boot:

Fedora 12
Ubuntu 9.10
Kubuntu 9.10
Xubuntu 9.10
OpenSuSE 11.2
Clonezilla LiveCD
GParted LiveCD
ReMasterSys
Knoppix LiveCD
Super Grub LiveCD
Helix Forensics LiveCD

etc...

Maybe someday. :)

NoaHall
January 9th, 2010, 03:02 AM
There was some sort of crazy boot program that would allow users to put any bootable ISO file onto a flash drive and have them multi boot at the splash screen?

I'm looking at it like this. I use quite a few LiveCDs. I utilize several different Linux operating systems... whether it's out of curiosity reasons or to try them out to see if they're worthy to install at work.

I'm cleaning up my case of CDs I use at work. I work in tech so I have all sorts of troubleshooting stuff here, not to mention anytime a new Fedora, openSuSE, Mandriva, BackTrack, Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Xubuntu, etc etc comes out, I bring a new copy of it to work.

It would be so nice to just have some sort of crazy boot loading flash drive that's like 32gb in size and I could just toss whatever bootable iso to it I wanted.

Imagine having one flash drive to boot: