PDA

View Full Version : Amateur web builders wanting a better WYSIWYG editor

L4U
January 8th, 2010, 11:31 PM
I'm an amateur who uses Frontpage to build websites for fun and I'm transitioning to Linux to get as Windows-free as I can. However, I and other amateur web builders who favored amateur-oriented web builders like Frontpage feel that the few WYSIWYG web editors available for Linux just don't quite match up enough to user-friendliness and convenient features found in editors like Frontpage.

I'm starting this thread to campaign to the current Linux WYSIWYG html editor projects to adopt some of the features that made editors like Frontpage a favorite among amateur web builders, such as myself.

I filed a suggestion for this to OpenOffice to improve on their simple html editor app (which many think is the most Frontpage-like web editor), but they declined (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1375432) saying they don't currently have the resources to add additions to their HTML editor.

If you support the idea of this campaign, please voice your support in this thread and also help campaign to the existing Linux web editor projects to add more Frontpage-like features to their editors.

The current true WYSIWYG web editors for Linux that I know of are:

1. KompoZer (http://kompozer.net/) (their community page (http://kompozer.net/community.php))
2. Amaya (http://www.w3.org/Amaya/) (how to contribute (http://www.w3.org/Amaya/Actors.html#contribute1))
3. SeaMonkey (http://www.seamonkey-project.org/) (their support page (http://www.seamonkey-project.org/community#support))
4. OpenOffice Writer/Web (http://www.openoffice.org/) (current aren't interested in expanding their html editor)

Also, list the features in this thread you'd like to see any of the above Linux web editors adopt so others can see what features we liked in editors like Frontpage that the Linux editors don't have, or we couldn't find.