PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] upgrade jaunty to karmic

aslinda
January 8th, 2010, 07:21 PM
Hi guys :D

I'm a newbie to ubuntu and I only used ubuntu less than a month, and I really like it. I would like very much to upgrade my ubuntu jaunty to ubuntu karmic but I have several concerns. If I choose to upgrade via update manager:

1. Will I lose my compilers and configurations? For example, some of my programs in current ubuntu are using gcc 4.3 and g++-4.3. I know that Karmic uses higher version of gcc and g++ and I have installed these programs in higher version of gcc and g++ and I got some problems. I would very much like to stay with my current compilers and configurations. I mean, do have to install all these previous version of compilers when I upgrade to Karmic?

2. What about my data in my home folder? Will it be erased?

3. What about my data in programs such as firefox? Will it too be erased?

4. What will happen to all third party software if I upgraded to Karmic?

I really hope anyone could give my a reply. I don't want to lose all my configurations and data because of the upgrade.

Thanks again

Aslinda
Newfoundland

recluce
January 9th, 2010, 01:34 AM
Hi guys :D

I'm a newbie to ubuntu and I only used ubuntu less than a month, and I really like it. I would like very much to upgrade my ubuntu jaunty to ubuntu karmic but I have several concerns. If I choose to upgrade via update manager:

1. Will I lose my compilers and configurations? For example, some of my programs in current ubuntu are using gcc 4.3 and g++-4.3. I know that Karmic uses higher version of gcc and g++ and I have installed these programs in higher version of gcc and g++ and I got some problems. I would very much like to stay with my current compilers and configurations. I mean, do have to install all these previous version of compilers when I upgrade to Karmic?

2. What about my data in my home folder? Will it be erased?