PDA

View Full Version : I just installed Ubunutu ......now what ?

nekksus
January 8th, 2010, 04:11 PM
I am a windows Admin and I want to learn linux administration. I just installed Ubuntu 9.10 and now what ? Does anyone have any funny projects I can start on or a path I should head down?

howefield
January 8th, 2010, 04:12 PM
I just installed Ubuntu 9.10 and now what ?

Well done, have a cup of tea...

ubername
January 8th, 2010, 04:12 PM
I am a windows Admin and I want to learn linux administration. I just installed Ubuntu 9.10 and now what ? Does anyone have any funny projects I can start on or a path I should head down?

You could try getting some samba shares to work (sharing files between windows and *nix computers via network)

llawwehttam
January 8th, 2010, 04:13 PM
First install some good apps.

I followed this guy's recommendations.

http://blog.thesilentnumber.me/2009/09/top-things-to-do-after-installing.html

NoaHall
January 8th, 2010, 04:13 PM
Set up a headless server running CentOS and manage it from your desktop computer using ssh.

Zzl1xndd
January 8th, 2010, 04:16 PM
One of my favorite progects when I first started using Linux was authenticating with Active directory.

but welcome to Linux and Ubuntu.

Grenage
January 8th, 2010, 04:24 PM
I want to learn linux administration

Use it as your primary (if not sole) OS. It's the only way you'll really learn.

Nerd King
January 8th, 2010, 04:34 PM
I'd suggest getting virtualbox and running a few boxes together and having them all share files with each other, interact with each other etc. So 1 windows box, 1 bsd, and your host linux. Then you can have a virtual network and see how much they fight :)
Also, go to synaptic, install apache2, mysql-server, php5 and phpmyadmin and congrats you have a webserver. Play with it :)

VastOne
January 8th, 2010, 04:43 PM