PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Backup / restore, Like windows home server

DFortier
January 7th, 2010, 05:47 PM
Hello all,
I'm new to Ubuntu (very minimal linux use as well). I rathe like what i have seen so far with ubuntu (tried Wubi, VM's and even installed via dual boot). I'm currently looking for a backup option that works like window home server. Where it will run on the OS and give me the option to recover a few files or more importantly restore the whole partition to how it was (I find the best way for me to learn something is to "play" and that can = fubar).

I tried Deja Dup (choose / as backup point) and while this did seem to backup/restore personal data, I got alot of permision errors and it didnt restore programs. I googled looking for a way to make a "recovery disk" hoping it would allow me to bypass the permission errors and overwrite everything.

I have also download clonezilla but this seems to require that i reboot the machine and manually kick off a backup (havent actually tried it yet)

Is there a better solution that i am missing? I have a network share, dvd burner and external hard disk that i can use as backup media.

Any advice would be most helpfull
thank you

maybeway36
January 7th, 2010, 06:15 PM
I haven't heard of anything like this, but I don't see why it wouldn't be possible for someone to make.
In the meantime, you might consider making either a partition image or a tarball of all the files on the drive. There's a good, although slightly outdated, tutorial here. (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=35087)
I'd add the options

--exclude=/dev --exclude=/media
to tar when you back it up. That way you don't have to worry about unmounting stuff in /media.

DFortier
January 7th, 2010, 06:24 PM
Thanks for the input i'll give it a try.

DFortier
January 28th, 2010, 04:06 PM