PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Brand New HDD, can't Install Ubuntu - Desperate for help

Kollateral
January 7th, 2010, 04:37 PM
Um... hello. n_n

I am hoping someone, anyone, can help me. As I've been trying to get a desktop PC to work for... months now. It was intended to work for christmas, as a gift, but it didn't go as planned.

First, back in November, I bought a t770.uk HP desktop PC, which came without a Hard drive as the perviosu owner had removed it for security reasons. A week later I got ahold of a brand new - out of an anti-static sealed bag - compatable Western Digital Caviar SE 80GB SATA150 7200 HDD, and installed it as directed by my t770.uk manual. Up until now, things looked to be on a roll.

Now... as I don't have any windows OS, I figured Ubunutu would be the way to go (and it certainly is from what I've heard and read about it. I can't wait!), so I sent off for a CD and it popped through my mail a few weeks back. The problem that I am having - and I'm no expert, I'm new to this... so please bare with me if I miss an important detail - is after booting past a very breif view of the HP POST screen, the screen goes black with the error "Disc boot failure-insert system disk and press enter". I've tried placing the Ubuntu disc in (assuming it is asking for that? An OS disc) and restarting, and changing the boot order around, but no matter what I do the error persists and I can't install Ubuntu.

I don't know what steps I am supposed to take next, or what's happened...

Please help... I really want to get this PC running with Ubuntu. :confused:

drs305
January 7th, 2010, 04:44 PM
Kollateral,

Welcome to Ubuntu and the Ubuntu forums. Hopefully we can get you up and running Ubuntu so you can experience the benefits of this OS.