PDA

View Full Version : sata II... outdated?

rainbowmagik
January 7th, 2010, 06:05 AM
Recently I consolidated alot of data, a bit over 4tb I think.
It litterally took days, at least the better half of two, with a transfer rate from 30 to 80 mb/s, depending on where the data was stored. I couldn't help thinking that it's way too slow, and the way file sizes and hard drives are becoming larger, it gets to a point where you just leave stuff alone because you can't be bothered.

So I ask the question, is sata II outdated and do we need a new mainstream storage solution, and don't say solid state, because it's waaay too expensive to be used by most home users or under large scale deployments.

I'm not an expert so I have no idea whether the systems I use are just slow or if there actually is something better... even if it transfered at 200 it would still be slow...

user1397
January 7th, 2010, 06:14 AM
It litterally took days, at least the better half of two, with a transfer rate from 30 to 80 mb/s, depending on where the data was stored. I couldn't help thinking that it's way too slow, and the way file sizes and hard drives are becoming larger, it gets to a point where you just leave stuff alone because you can't be bothered.

So I ask the question, is sata II outdated and do we need a new mainstream storage solution, and don't say solid state, because it's waaay too expensive to be used by most home users or under large scale deployments.

I'm not an expert so I have no idea whether the systems I use are just slow or if there actually is something better... even if it transfered at 200 it would still be slow...i still can't get the fact that you have 4TB of data out of my head...:popcorn:

shazbut
January 7th, 2010, 06:21 AM
The SATA bus isn't the culprit, it's the slow mechanical disks that can't take advantage of it. They can't even saturate the bus on SATA1.5, let alone SATA3.0.

chewearn
January 7th, 2010, 06:24 AM