PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] I think I did something very wrong.

ZomboZeZombie
January 7th, 2010, 05:45 AM
I am brand new to ubuntu.

I decided to switch over from windows after trying Wubi.

I made boot disks after downloading the .iso for ubuntu, and following all the instructions on the ubuntu website for making a boot disk. None of them worked.

I went with the USB install, which seemed to work perfectly. After waiting on the black screen with the blinking white cursor for a long time my computer finally booted Ubuntu. I was surfing the web and checking out ubuntu when my mousepad stopped working. Nothing happened for hours, so I shut it down. I reboot to try again, hoping it was just a one-time glitch, but then ubuntu wouldnt boot. It went to what I understand to be the GRUB menu and i selected the option to start ubuntu normally, and it went to the glowing ubuntu symbol, which was fluxuating but eventually stopped and sat frozen, I left it overnight, nothing happened.

i have tried everything I could think of like re-doing the USB installer set up, downloading a new .iso, wiping my hard drive and re-installing, no dice.

If anyone could help me that would be great, and if you want any more details just ask, like I said im new to ubuntu/linux, so I dont know much about how to work it.

Thank you.

Edit/More Info: Sometimes it will boot all the way then freeze, then i am forced to shut it down. Most of the time it wont boot, and it will freeze during boot.

iponeverything
January 7th, 2010, 06:09 AM
From what you posted, you have done nothing wrong.

It may just be issues what version on machine, if your using 9.10 I would try 9.04 instead.

ZomboZeZombie
January 7th, 2010, 06:45 AM
From what you posted, you have done nothing wrong.

It may just be issues what version on machine, if your using 9.10 I would try 9.04 instead.

Ah, thank you, Ill go make a disk right now and see how it turns out!

Where can I download the older version?

iponeverything