PDA

View Full Version : Writing a Windows .exe replacement

beegary
January 5th, 2010, 05:38 PM
Hello Programmers!!
I am a total newb when it comes to programming............

I have an .exe file that I used to use in Windows XP. I suppose I could try to run it under Wine but I want to learn a programming language.
The .exe file is a small file (less than 2mb), is it possilbe to reverse engineer the program and re-write in Ubuntu?
(The .exe is used to remove empty space in another file, i.e. the file maybe 40mb but only actually hold 20mb)

Thanks in advance

harold4
January 5th, 2010, 05:41 PM
You have already defined the basic specs. :)

A quick bash script could do this for you.

akashiraffee
January 5th, 2010, 05:45 PM
Keep in mind an .exe that is "less than 2mb" is still the product of thousands of lines of code. Altho the amount of source is usually less than the exe size, remember, the entire bible, or the text of war and peace, are both less than 0.5mb.

However, if the exe has been statically linked, the amount of original work you would have to reverse engineer is less, but, honestly, it will probably take you years to figure it all out.

Not that I want to discourage you from programming, just warning you about reality. If you tell us what the application is, someone can give you a better idea of what's involved and how you might do it on a linux system.

You have already defined the basic specs. :)

A quick bash script could do this for you.
Sorry Harold but that is extremely incorrect.

Can+~
January 5th, 2010, 06:56 PM
Sorry Harold but that is extremely incorrect.

(The .exe is used to remove empty space in another file, i.e. the file maybe 40mb but only actually hold 20mb)

I think he meant that he could do the task (remove empty space in another file) with bash.

beegary
January 5th, 2010, 08:36 PM
Im sorry folks the program is actually 24kB:
http://www.r4dstt.com/download-r4ds-rom-trimmer-20.html