PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Unwanted automatic wireless connection

Casey797
January 4th, 2010, 05:39 AM
I'm new to Ubuntu so bear with me. I installed 9.10 from a CD and it looks fine and works OK wired. However, my wireless keeps picking up a connection at home via my Linksys router that is not mine and I can't get around it, blacklist it or delete it. No matter what I do it keeps showing back up as an AutoConnection. It is the same type of router as mine but the security is different (I use WPA-Personal and the offender is WEP). How can I permanently block\disable\etc the extra connection? I can't get on my home network until the bad autoconnection is gone. Thanks!

More info: I use an IBM R40 into which I installed a Toshiba mini-PC wireless card. I know it works as I have used it to connect to other wireless networks other than my own. I prefer to leave my router configured as it is due to other users at home and the configs I use for them. I read about WICD if that is a possibility, but actually connecting wirelessly is not the issue.

slooksterpsv
January 4th, 2010, 05:50 AM
I had this same problem on my Netbookt, you can go in and specify which Wireless connection to always use via System > Preferences > Network Connections.

The settings that you can specify are all there, let me know if you need help.

Casey797
January 4th, 2010, 06:02 AM