PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Clean Ubuntu Install, and a Few Questions

izz.y
January 3rd, 2010, 07:48 PM
Currently I am running Ubuntu 9.04 on my computer, and it is the only OS installed. I purchased the $30 student WIn7 Professional upgrade. I have a XP Pro CD + Key, and I plan on using that just to upgrade to Win7. I love Ubuntu and it is my primary OS, it is just that every now and then you come across some program that requires windows (Propellerhead Reason 4, Adobe Photoshop CS4, Atomix Virtual DJ etc.) and it requires full system resorces so you do not want to use wine. I love Linux, but somtimes I just have to use WIndows, so I do not want to hear any arguments about that.

HERE'S THE DEAL:

I want to do a clean install of everything, and I have data + programs backed up, I would like to install Ubuntu 9.10, WinXP Pro and I want to Upgrade XP Pro to 7. I am completely new to GRUB 2, and upgrading windows; but I have experience with Linux and Windows, and dual booting. I would like to install Ubuntu 9.10 on its own partition (No WUBI), and WInXP + Win 7 on there own partitions (3 Partitions Overall). I would like to know what to do at this point, Should I install Ubuntu then Xp then 7, Xp then 7 then Ubuntu, etc. I know how to make Partitions, I just need to know the order in which I should install the operating systems, and how to get it to dual boot.

MY COMPUTER:

I had a Sony Vaio PCV-RS530G, and the mobo failed, so I rebuilt it, the case, processor, fans, CD/Floppy drives, TV tuner and power supply are unchanged, everyhing else has been replaced, here is the breakdown:

Proecessor: Intel Pentium 4 3.20 GHZ, HT Technology, No 64-Bit or VT-x
Motherboard: Biostar P4M900-M4
Hard Disk Drive: Seagate 1TB SATA (IDE Mode, no RAID)
Graphics Card: Nvidia GeForce 8400 GS, PCI Express, 512 MB RAM
RAM: 2 GB Corsair, DDR2-5300

QUICK QUESTIONS:

I had a few quick questions, I would really appreciate it if someone could answer these: