PDA

View Full Version : Opera supported?

brainstuff
February 2nd, 2005, 03:49 PM
Hi

As you can see from my post count I am a complete newb around here - I've been a linux user for about 12 hours now so please don't shout at me if you think this is in the wrong forum.

Anyway, I see in the Synaptic manager that there is an entry for Opera, but no associated downloads - does this mean that support is on its way but not implemented yet?

Call me freak, but I prefer the functionality of Opera to Firefox (page tabs in one window for instance).

Does anyone know if any of the other Distro versions will work with Ubuntu? There are a lot of other distros supported but no Ubuntu yet.

Thanks in advance for any pointers
brain

Edit: in answer to my own question, pertinent thread here:
opera forum clicky (http://my.opera.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=80452&highlight=ubuntu)

Jad
February 2nd, 2005, 05:05 PM
go to http://www.Opera.com/
download the debian package
then
sudo dpkg -i opera_7.54-20041210.5-shared-qt_en_sarge_i386.deb

I have opera installed on my system :-)

piedamaro
February 2nd, 2005, 05:16 PM
go to http://www.Opera.com/
download the debian package
then
sudo dpkg -i opera_7.54-20041210.5-shared-qt_en_sarge_i386.deb

I have opera installed on my system :-)
Every browser on earth has tabbed browsing (ie a part of course...but is it reallty a browser? or a shell?)

The one single thing I find great in opera is the history cached in ram. Going back and forward through the pages is amazingly fast with no network traffic generated.
I spent hard times trying to guess why no oter browser has this feature.
For the rest opera is a ad-ware which IMHO sucks. (I've even made a skin for opera a coule of years ago). I've used it since vedsion 3.5, but now I use epiphany.

az
February 2nd, 2005, 05:37 PM
Opera is proprietary software.

Icky.

No future there.

Jad
February 2nd, 2005, 05:47 PM
some people have to make livin :-)