PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] broken packages

joedoe47
January 1st, 2010, 09:28 PM
hey there, this is my first post here on the ubuntu forums. although I am a noob on the forum I'm not new to linux.

after following a guide to sync my ipod touch (3.1.2) and it 'seemed' to work but there were originally 3 broken packages and after trying to run "sudo apt-get auto-remove" and "sudo apt-get -f install" and "sudo dpkg --configure --pending". I even cleared the cached packages that synaptic has, I got it down to 2 left broken packages, without knowing what the heck happened :confused: and was wondering if anyone here could help out.:guitar:

synaptic outputs this when I try to automatically fix broken packages...

E: /var/cache/apt/archives/libusbmuxd1_1.0.1-0ubuntu1~k_amd64.deb: trying to overwrite '/usr/lib/libusbmuxd.so.1.0.0', which is also in package libusbmux0 0
E: /var/cache/apt/archives/usbmuxd_1.0.1-0ubuntu1~k_amd64.deb: trying to overwrite '/usr/sbin/usbmuxd', which is also in package libusbmux0 0

and what I receive when I try to do this via terminal

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Correcting dependencies... Done
The following extra packages will be installed:
libusbmuxd1 usbmuxd
The following NEW packages will be installed:
libusbmuxd1 usbmuxd
0 upgraded, 2 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
6 not fully installed or removed.
E: Could not get lock /var/cache/apt/archives/lock - open (11: Resource temporarily unavailable)
E: Unable to lock the download directory
joedoe47@joedoe47-laptop:~$ sudo apt-get -f install
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Correcting dependencies... Done
The following extra packages will be installed:
libusbmuxd1 usbmuxd
The following NEW packages will be installed:
libusbmuxd1 usbmuxd
0 upgraded, 2 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
6 not fully installed or removed.