PDA

View Full Version : Programming In Linux

srinat
December 30th, 2009, 04:58 PM
Hi(I need some expert help on this one),
I'm a undergraduate student in a university and next semester I have a paper on Programming in unix .The reference book is
"The Unix Programming environment"
by Brian Kerningham and Rob Pike(Prentice Hall).
The syllabus covers
*Unix File system
*Shell
*Filter(grep,awk)
*System Calls
*Shell and I/O Programming

My Question is "Does this syllabus comprehensively cover the topics needed to learn programming in linux?"
Also are there any "classical or standard books" on these topics?
Thanks in advance for the answers..

31/12/09
Thank you all for the suggestions..

ZeroSpawn
December 30th, 2009, 05:03 PM
Those covers the bases of Linux/Unix. Don;t expect to be making huge money making programs. The class will get you started in the right track.

Xbehave
December 30th, 2009, 05:08 PM
It looks to me that it only covers shell programming, while it is the most important part of unix, there are other aspects (e.g GUI programming, c,c++,python,dbus,etc)

LeifAndersen
December 30th, 2009, 05:11 PM
Agreed, pick up a good copy of QT Creator, and follow those tutorials. You will learn a bit about making GUI applications in linux.

BrokenKingpin
December 30th, 2009, 05:24 PM
You will want to get a book that covers the GCC/G++ C/C++ compiler. I wouldn't wory too much on GUI sdks like QT until you have covered that off. Although GUI development is an important topic to probably cover, you need to learn the basics well before getting to the GUI stuff.

Edit: The book you mentioned sounds like a great book for learning the basics of a UNIX system, which is a very good thing to know before really diving into UNIX development.

Bölvağur
December 30th, 2009, 06:05 PM
My Question is "Does this syllabus comprehensively cover the topics needed to learn programming in linux?"

I would say no.

But then I'd change my mind and say yes.