PDA

View Full Version : Distro hunting for netbook

emeraldgirl08
December 30th, 2009, 03:03 PM
My brother has an Asus eee 2gsurf netbook. I've never used one of these before and I was very curious about what OS it would be running. It seems it's some type of KDE linux OS. I also noticed that someone downloaded a lot of exe programs to the netbook. It's a little confusing b/c I see some ******* type of signatures on it. Like the Silver XP theme is going on.

I think the KDE is more hardware intensive than many other distros out there and that XFCE or LXDE may be a better platform to run. I'm fairly new here so if anyone has any suggestions as to what OS may be snappy and work excellent on his netbook I'd appreciate it!

Oh he's new to Linux and seems open to learning some terminal commands. I tried installing VLC through the command terminal but it is a little different than what I'm used to with Ubuntu or #!. His specs I'm not too sure about either...I think he told me it has 512 mb of RAM and the processor is probably less than 1ghz. Maybe around 700-900 mhz.

HappinessNow
December 30th, 2009, 03:06 PM
My brother has an Asus eee 2gsurf netbook. I've never used one of these before and I was very curious about what OS it would be running. It seems it's some type of KDE linux OS. I also noticed that someone downloaded a lot of exe programs to the netbook. It's a little confusing b/c I see some ******* type of signatures on it. Like the Silver XP theme is going on.

I think the KDE is more hardware intensive than many other distros out there and that XFCE or LXDE may be a better platform to run. I'm fairly new here so if anyone has any suggestions as to what OS may be snappy and work excellent on his netbook I'd appreciate it!