PDA

View Full Version : Pulling random text from a file in bash

Max_Mackie
December 30th, 2009, 07:03 AM
Ive got a text file full of block quotes (all separated by a blank line) and I would like to call this file and echo a random quote using bash.
Ive crawled around and Im not sure how to do this. Im also very new to bash.
Thanks for helping.

ghostdog74
December 30th, 2009, 07:34 AM
show examples and describe what you want from those examples.

Max_Mackie
December 30th, 2009, 07:40 AM
Let's say my script goes something like this:

#!/bin/bash
echo Welcome to your computer
echo
"echo random quote"

Naturally, I would collect quotes and place them in a text file in blocks like this (using a blank line as a delimiter):

quote quote quote

quote quote

quote quote quote quote

etc...

I hope you understand I'm trying to accomplish here :s
Thanks!

x33a
December 30th, 2009, 08:16 AM
i think awk could help you out. though i cannot help as i am very poor with bash myself :P

ghostdog74
December 30th, 2009, 09:01 AM
awk 'BEGIN{RS="";srand()}
{
quote[++c] = $0
}END{
RAND=int(rand()*c+1)
print quote[RAND]
}
' file

Rany Albeg
December 30th, 2009, 09:44 AM
though ghostdog's solution is much cleaner I'm giving another option :

#!/bin/bash
################################################## ###
# Output random text that is bounded by blank lines.
################################################## ###

sen_loc=$HOME/Desktop/sentences #Location of file.
sen_arr=() #Array of sentences.
sen_rand= #Random sentence.

sen_arr=($(grep -n "^$" "$sen_loc"|sed 's/://')) #All blank lines.
sen_rand=$((RANDOM % (${#sen_arr[@]}-1))) #Random index in sen_arr.
from="${sen_arr[$sen_rand]}" #From above random index.
to="${sen_arr[$((sen_rand+1))]}" #To next index in sen_arr.

echo "from : $from to: $to"
sed -n "$from,$to"p "$sen_loc" #Print from-to range

exit 0

Max_Mackie
December 31st, 2009, 02:30 AM
Thanks guys.