PDA

View Full Version : ANN: Pymazon 0.1beta released.

sccolbert
December 29th, 2009, 07:46 PM
I'm happy to announce the first beta release of Pymazon: a Python implemented alternative to the Amazon mp3 downloader.

Pymazon was created specifically to alleviate the issues surrounding the Linux version of the Amazon mp3 downloader (though it should run just fine in Windows too).

Pymazon can be used from the command line, or a gui interface if PyQt4 is installed.

You can get Pymazon from the cheeseshop using pip (easy_install is not supported as it breaks the bin script):

$ pip install pymazon

You can read more about Pymazon (screenshots, installation, usage, source code) at http://code.google.com/p/pymazon/

Cheers!

Chris

marym
January 3rd, 2010, 06:15 PM
I am a true novice user of ubuntu so I am very wary of downloading stuff from sites I am not sure of - and my son just gives me so much earache when things go topsy turvey.

I have a netbook and a desktop. Some time ago I downloaded the Amazon downloader onto the netbook and it works fine.

I cannot make the same downloader work on the desktop (running Karmic). Getting fed up of moving .amz files from one computer to another, so would like something that actually worked without putting my installation at risk.

There is little feedback on the forum about this Pymazon - has anyone actually used it?

isaacj87
January 3rd, 2010, 07:00 PM
I am a true novice user of ubuntu so I am very wary of downloading stuff from sites I am not sure of - and my son just gives me so much earache when things go topsy turvey.

I have a netbook and a desktop. Some time ago I downloaded the Amazon downloader onto the netbook and it works fine.

I cannot make the same downloader work on the desktop (running Karmic). Getting fed up of moving .amz files from one computer to another, so would like something that actually worked without putting my installation at risk.