PDA

View Full Version : Why Linux is better than Mac or Windows?

yuvalsarig2005
February 26th, 2006, 05:31 PM
If Linux is better than Mac or Windows?

Should I install Linux on my comuter? (I have Mac OS X 10.4)

Please send answer

WelterPelter
February 26th, 2006, 05:56 PM
The answer to the first question is so huge and complex, but I think the answer to the second is fairly straightforward. Putting Linux on your Mac is sort of pointless, since OSX is a *nix anyway. You can run many, many unix programs on it without too much trouble. I wouldn't bother with it.

thoffland
February 26th, 2006, 05:59 PM
Also, if you are new to linux you'd be better off learning it on a separate computer rather than your main one. I've been using it for about 6 months and love it, but still rely on Windows (unfortunately) for most of my work.

aysiu
February 26th, 2006, 06:14 PM
Better for me doesn't mean better for you.
What do you want Linux to do that Mac OS X can't?

If you're sick of Aqua and want to customize your interface and icons easily, maybe Linux is "better."

If you want certain designed-for-Linux software and don't want to be bothered with Fink (which is really complicated--I went through it on my wife's Powerbook to get Gnocatan installed), then maybe Linux is "better."

If you don't want to pay US$129 for an OS upgrade (say, Panther to Tiger, or Tiger to Leopard), then maybe Linux is "better."

However, if you want a tightly integrated experience, then Mac is better. If you want an ultra-slick interface, then Mac is better. If you want a lot of commercial software (like Adobe Creative Suite), then Mac is better. If you want fully functional Flash in webpages, Mac is better (Flash works just fine on x86 Linux but not PPC).

bobpaul
February 26th, 2006, 06:24 PM
I've been using it for about 6 months and love it, but still rely on Windows (unfortunately) for most of my work.