PDA

View Full Version : Help writing python code that deletes lines based on what they say

antman8969
December 28th, 2009, 05:48 AM
Ok so i'm pretty new to python (new enough that you should treat me as tho I know nothing :() and I would greatly appreciate some input on what commands I would have to use to write a script which does the following:

I want to take a series of text lines and run a script that deletes all lines that dont start with "You", so that only the lines that DO start with "You" are left in the file, and make a new file for the output. So basically, I want to turn this:

Ulgorn Raider inflicted 1 damage on Training Dummy.
You have joined the Ishalgen region channel.
You have joined the Ishalgen trade channel.
You have joined the LFG Channel.
You inflicted 54 damage on Training Dummy.
You inflicted 5 damage on Training Dummy.
You inflicted 79 damage on Training Dummy by using Weakening Severe Blow I.

into this:

any idea what commands I would have to use in the script for a start?

In this example there is only one message that is identical each time it appears, but other messages will come up regularly too that start differently so I can't just delete thoat content specifically.

BenAshton24
December 28th, 2009, 07:57 AM
#!/usr/bin/env python

#A list for the lines of text that start with "You"
f2 = []

#A "for" loop to go though each of the lines in "file.txt"
for line in open("file.txt"):

# If the first three characters equal "You":
if line[0:3] == "You":

# Then append them to the list
f2.append(line)

#open a new file for writing the changed text to
f = open("file2.txt","w")

#write the lines from the list
f.writelines(f2)

#close the file
f.close()

ghostdog74
December 28th, 2009, 09:28 AM
>>> for line in open("file"):
... for item in line.split():
... if item == "You":
... print line.strip()

DaithiF
December 28th, 2009, 03:00 PM
slight variation to ghostdogs, as I think you only wanted to match 'You' appearing at the start of a line: