PDA

View Full Version : questions and concerns

ivh90
December 27th, 2009, 02:28 PM
hello there

I am a second year computer engineering student and i have been using ubuntu for about 2 years now ... and I like it a lot.

I took programming courses in both C and java which have similar syntax,
and i am thinking about learning Python ... but i have some questions and concerns

1) can python be as good as java ? if not what do you recommend ?
2) is it better for a programmer to be good in one language or be familiar with different languages ?

i am really interested in your opinions

thanks

maximinus_uk
December 27th, 2009, 03:12 PM
1) can python be as good as java ? if not what do you recommend ?
2) is it better for a programmer to be good in one language or be familiar with different languages ?

Your first question is flame-war territory but I would say Python is a *better* language than Java.

Second, it is better for a programmer to be fluent in more than one language. This is because different languages suit different applications, and you shouldn't keep applying the same hammer to every job you get. With that in mind, I would suggest the following:

Make sure you are happy with C. It's a simple language and a lot of other languages are based on it.
You should learn an OO language, either Ruby or Python is best.
You should learn a scripting language such as Perl, Python or Ruby
You should learn a 'strange' language - I suggest scheme.

C is the 'lingua franca' of Linux. OO is an established paradigm that you need to understand when reading other peoples code. Scripting languages are good for whipping up quick and dirty code (and for structured, well written code as well!). Scheme will blow your mind.