PDA

View Full Version : I have a spare desktop, any ideas what to do with it?

Rackstar
December 25th, 2009, 11:51 PM
Hi,

I kind of have a luxury problem here. I now have a laptop running Ubuntu. But I still have a spare desktop now. It is still quite ok (dual core 2.66).

I now rsync my laptop to a external HDD with a script I wrote (mainly rsyncs and detecting when I plug my HDD to my laptop).

But since I'm a paranoiac, I would try to put Ubuntu on the desktop too and use it as a backup server with the internal HDD and an extra HDD.

But I also have limited space on my laptop (120 GB), and since I'm also a photographer, this isn't enough for my piles and piles of RAW files.

So maybe I was thinking.. Should I symlink some folders to the server (my desktop)? (like photo's older than a year?)

I'm paying for my own electricity, so I wouldn't like to fire up my desktop too often if it isn't necessary. But I wouldn't like to use the screen too often (but I wouldn't like to have to log in automatically, but I'm too paranoic too not protect my desktop with a password). I use the screen as a second monitor for my laptop too.

Any other ideas what I could do, or how to do this in the best way? (I am very willing too learn, I study computer science, and I have experience with linux scripting)

Thanks!

User3k
December 25th, 2009, 11:58 PM
I use and have used my spare computer as a gateway/firewall, personal server. I am currently thinking of setting it up as a mail server. While I love Ubuntu I usually use SME for that.

CharlesA
December 26th, 2009, 12:01 AM
You can set it up as a headless server if you so desire. There was a thread a little bit ago asking for to auto suspend a machine, using Wake on LAN to wake it up before using it.

You'd just need to install ssh and maybe tunnel VNC over SSH if you install a GUI on it. Not sure on the symlinks thing. Thought you could mount a network folder, but I'm not quite sure how that works. (I just use Samba at home)

pwnst*r