PDA

View Full Version : Anyone know anything specific about the 6th generation of programming languages?

Blacklightbulb
December 25th, 2009, 08:54 PM
Anything? Or does it depend on the next generation of computers? If so anyone have any info about those? All I know is they are expected 10 years from now. God I'll be old by then :(!

Dark Aspect
December 25th, 2009, 10:58 PM
Anything? Or does it depend on the next generation of computers? If so anyone have any info about those? All I know is they are expected 10 years from now. God I'll be old by then :(!

Hm, might be mistaken but its seems like I heard something about this a while ago. People were saying it will be completely based on web programing and cloud computing. I don't really put a lot of faith in that crap.

sidewalkcynic
December 26th, 2009, 01:24 AM
I'm not a programmer, just a dreamer, but why might it take ten years?

What are the first five generations, anyway?

forrestcupp
December 26th, 2009, 02:01 AM
I'm sure by then people will still be using C, C++, and Assembly a lot.

jrothwell97
December 26th, 2009, 02:49 AM
I'm not a programmer, just a dreamer, but why might it take ten years?

What are the first five generations, anyway?
Officially, the "generations" are as follows (I think):

Machine code. The lowest level, at a level understood directly by the processor.
Assembly. A mnemonic for machine code, and little more.
Procedural languages. Variables, structures, complex functions and types. "Do this." Examples: C, Pascal, BASIC.
Object-oriented languages. Objects, methods, classes. On this event, create a new one of those and tell it to do that. Examples: C++, C#, Visual Basic (shudder), Visual C++ (doubleshudder), Objective-C (WTF?)
Declarative languages. Queries, sources, relationships. "Find out this." Examples: PROLOG, SQL.

Exodist
December 26th, 2009, 03:23 AM
I noticed I have to take C# next fall in college. What the heck is C#? Is it like the next step up from C and C++?

NovaAesa