PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Ubuntu with Windows 7

melwaltrip
December 25th, 2009, 05:18 PM
I am a novice at partitioning and a beginner with Ubuntu.

Need help installing Ubuntu 9.10 alongside Windows 7:

I get down to Step 4 of 6 on the Install menu -

It shows that my hard drive has 3 sections:
/dev/sda1 Used by Toshiba
/dev/sda2 Windows 7 (Loader)
/dev/sda3 which is empty and that is where I want to put Ubuntu

It asks if I want to format the drive and use it all for Ububtu or if I want to partition manually...since I want both operating systems I select "partition manually"

On Step 4 of 7 I select /dev/sda3 since that is where I want to put ubuntu

I get an error message that says" No root file system is defined. Please correct this from the partitioning menu"

At this point I am lost....How do I get Ubuntu installed i /dev/sda3??

raymondh
December 25th, 2009, 06:39 PM
I am a novice at partitioning and a beginner with Ubuntu.

Need help installing Ubuntu 9.10 alongside Windows 7:

I get down to Step 4 of 6 on the Install menu -

It shows that my hard drive has 3 sections:
/dev/sda1 Used by Toshiba
/dev/sda2 Windows 7 (Loader)
/dev/sda3 which is empty and that is where I want to put Ubuntu

It asks if I want to format the drive and use it all for Ububtu or if I want to partition manually...since I want both operating systems I select "partition manually"

On Step 4 of 7 I select /dev/sda3 since that is where I want to put ubuntu

I get an error message that says" No root file system is defined. Please correct this from the partitioning menu"

At this point I am lost....How do I get Ubuntu installed i /dev/sda3??

Hi,

Unless I am mistaken, a standard win7 set-up coming from a manufacturer will have 3 partitions.... RECOVERY + BOOT IMAGE + WIN7.

If above is correct and from reading your post, you may overwrite your win7 OS. So be careful!