PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Need help in installing ubuntu 9.10!

McYaballow
December 24th, 2009, 10:05 PM
Ok first of all, I'm completely new to Unix-like OS so please try to keep explanations as simple as possible.

So I have a PC with an internal HDD which has Windows Vista Home Premium installed on it and I have an external HDD which has a ntfs partition ~900GB and ~100GB unallocated space. I burned the Ubuntu 9.10 live CD and my goal is to install Ubuntu on the unallocated space I have on the external HDD. The computer I'm using is a HP Pavilion p6140sc and from the BIOS I can choose the device I want to boot from with complete ease. Now the problem I encountered when I tried to install Ubuntu with the help of some online tutorials is that I get some GRUB-related problems when trying to boot. Now I was thinking that since I will be having Ubuntu and Windows on separate HDD devices, would there even be any need to have a multi boot system becase I can always select the boot device manually anyways at BIOS? So if I select the external from the BIOS, it would go automatically boot Ubuntu from it? So thinking this way I tried reinstalling Ubuntu and in the last step of the installation wizard, I choose Advanced and choose not to install the multiboot system (I assume this is the GRUB in question?). But even after this when I try to boot from the device, I get "GRUB loading." and nothing happens. I tried Google -searching for answers but I didn't find anything which would help or then they were too complicated for me to understand; again I'm very new to Ubuntu. The way I "reinstalled" was by deleting the partitions created during installation using Disk Utility (I'm using the Ubuntu Live CD) but I think I did before try to choose to install the multi boot so I don't that left the MBR in an unwanted state? How can I reset the MBR of my external drive and what is the proper way to to a clean reinstall of Ubuntu?

lindsay7
December 24th, 2009, 11:50 PM