PDA

View Full Version : [kde] Gnome-Do like Application for KDE?

beastrace91
December 24th, 2009, 05:09 PM
Hey All,

I was wondering if there is anything like Gnome-Do for KDE?

Thanks,
~Jeff

Confuzius
December 24th, 2009, 05:32 PM
Katapult
http://katapult.kde.org/screenshots
I think it's installed by default on Kubuntu.

FatalChaos
December 24th, 2009, 10:07 PM
I'm pretty new to kubuntu, but I don't think katapult is installed by default, and it looks like development on katapult stopped a while ago. Gnome do and Launchy are both supposed to work on kde, but I've had some problems with each.

SuperSonic4
December 24th, 2009, 10:10 PM
What is gnome-do?

Perhaps smooth-tasks will work

beastrace91
December 24th, 2009, 10:47 PM
Gnome-do is like a smart launcher. I press a series of hot-keys and it brings up a window, I start typing and it auto finds a program with the name I have typed. It also remembers programs that you have launched in the past, so for instance after awhile since I use Google Chrome a lot all I have to type is a single letter "c" for it to pull it up and then it launches it when I hit enter.

I tried running Gnome-Do under KDE but it doesn't work :-/

~Jeff

SuperSonic4
December 24th, 2009, 10:54 PM
Alt+F2 has a search history, I only have to type in "v" and "vlc" comes up

gunksta
December 25th, 2009, 05:07 PM
ALT + F2 in KDE is similar to Gnome-Do and is much much more advanced than the ALT + F2 dialog in Gnome.

Here are some things. After hitting Alt + F2, enter this (do not hit enter)

=1+3

Or, you can find your bookmarks (only integrated with KDE bookmarks, which sucks for those of us using FireFox). You can of course launch applications and quick browse to folders.

Try it out a little. It's not Gnome-Do, but it is quite powerful and in a few ways is more powerful than Gnome-Do

GeneralZod
December 25th, 2009, 10:57 PM