PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Daul boot install

Reddoug
December 24th, 2009, 03:30 AM
Hi
Trying to install Ubuntu 9.10 on Vista 64 bit HP laptop. AMD 2.2 with 4GB of ram. Comp has a recovery partition. Found out the hard way that Ubuntu did differentiate between recovery and vista partitions and overwrote my Vista partition. No big deal. It showed both when I told Ubuntu not to overwrite complete HD. I reinstalled Vista and tried it again. This time I could see where I messed up but I do not know how to get around my problem. When I got to the partition screen, top line showed three partition but the line bellowed it only showed two partitions that it would create, recovery and Ubuntu. Is there away to do this and have three partitions? I am new to Ubuntu.

Thanks, Doug

raymondh
December 24th, 2009, 03:46 AM
Hi
Trying to install Ubuntu 9.10 on Vista 64 bit HP laptop. AMD 2.2 with 4GB of ram. Comp has a recovery partition. Found out the hard way that Ubuntu did differentiate between recovery and vista partitions and overwrote my Vista partition. No big deal. It showed both when I told Ubuntu not to overwrite complete HD. I reinstalled Vista and tried it again. This time I could see where I messed up but I do not know how to get around my problem. When I got to the partition screen, top line showed three partition but the line bellowed it only showed two partitions that it would create, recovery and Ubuntu. Is there away to do this and have three partitions? I am new to Ubuntu.

Thanks, Doug

Am a bit confused.

Kindly ...

1. Boot into the Ubuntu liveCD and go live session (try ubuntu...)
2. In live session, access gparted (system > admin > partition editor)
3. When gparted window opens, press PRNTSCR (print screen) key which on my laptop is top right of the keyboard. Save the visual to your desktop