PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] system restore on 9.10

kanolsen
December 23rd, 2009, 01:30 AM
I upgraded to 9.10, but since then I haven't been able to log in, I only get a logon box, but nothing happen when I log in.

I found someone mention on the net about system restore, and wonder how I restore the computer back to a working system.

Let me know If you need any more information to help out. I am new to this so can't find myself around much alone.

Thanks in advance
Kanolsen

lemming465
December 24th, 2009, 08:02 PM
Regretably, your video chip support probably regressed between 9.04 and 9.10. If you have access to a live desktop CD, it would be interesting to know how well that works. (I like to try live desktop CD's before doing upgrades, just in case of regressions.)

If it does, write back for directions on how to use chroot to try and fix things further. If you are comfortable at the command line, booting in "recovery mode" (single user) might help. It might be possible to switch to the VESA video driver, but we'll need advice from someone else who knows more about X than I do.

Unfortunately, there is no downgrade method corresponding to upgrades; if you need to go back to 9.04 you'd have to reinstall. If you have data you can't easily back up externally and restore later, write back for directions on doing an overlay reinstall. (The basic idea is to boot a live CD and remove system directories without removing data directories like your home directory.)

kanolsen
December 25th, 2009, 02:29 AM
Thanks, I tried 9.10 live cd, and it worked perfectly. I have a Shuttle computer with onboard graphics.

I have copied everything from the Home folder so no damage can be done there, but I really do not like the thought of configuring the computer again in all the different files to get it back to as it were - or else I could reinstall. But since I just have to follow manuals it will take days before I'm finished setting it up as I had it before 9.10.