PDA

View Full Version : A complete newbie here

gw90se
February 2nd, 2005, 02:38 AM
This is a thanks in advance to all of you. I am a total newbie with Linux. About 2 years ago, I loaded RedHat on an old desktop unit. Browsed online and then started trying to load and configure the system. Lasted a few days and dropped it. A few months ago, I took this old desktop and loaded Mandrake. It lasted almost 2 weeks. Spent some time research the various distros and reading forums.

Decidsed on Ubuntu. Partly because of what I read about it and partly because of the support level that I saw from this group. =D>

I'll try not to drive you crazy with useless questions and promise to only come here when I can't locate my answer elsewhere or figure something out. :D

Initially, the install went great. I did manage to get XMMS going so I could listen to a little music while I work (right now, it's some Van Morrison, if you are curious) tried following the instructions for MPlayer, but have run into some problems with that. Still working on it though.

Anyway. Just a big hello to all and once again, TIA.

Ron

Quest-Master
February 2nd, 2005, 02:53 AM
This is a thanks in advance to all of you. I am a total newbie with Linux. About 2 years ago, I loaded RedHat on an old desktop unit. Browsed online and then started trying to load and configure the system. Lasted a few days and dropped it. A few months ago, I took this old desktop and loaded Mandrake. It lasted almost 2 weeks. Spent some time research the various distros and reading forums.

Decidsed on Ubuntu. Partly because of what I read about it and partly because of the support level that I saw from this group. =D>

I'll try not to drive you crazy with useless questions and promise to only come here when I can't locate my answer elsewhere or figure something out. :D