PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Fresh install of 9.10 but still see old settings

UDon
December 22nd, 2009, 01:00 PM
Hi, newbie here.

I upgraded from Ubuntu 9.4 to 9.10, but had a few minor issues. I read someone suggest that a fresh install might be better, and might resolve the minor problems. Since I had a Windows partition that I wanted to wipe, I thought I'd do a fresh install of 9.10. So I created a 9.10 boot disk, backed up all critical files on USB key, and did a fresh install. All went without problems

The Windows partition looks like it is wiped according to disk manager. However, I still see it in Grub, and more importantly it looks like all my old settings from the previous 9.10 are still active. I tried a second time, and it happened again. 9.10 installed perfectly, but I see my old files, screen-saver, etc, just as I had them from the last release. But I want a fresh virgin 9.10 installation!

How can I do a real fresh install of 9.10, so that NONE of my previous settings are kept?

darkod
December 22nd, 2009, 01:11 PM
If you do not intend to dual boot with windows, are you using the Erase and use whole disk option when installing ubuntu?
Or you are using the same / partition?

UDon
December 22nd, 2009, 09:30 PM
Hi, I don't remember seeing an "Erase" or "Use whole disk" option when doing the install, but that sounds like the kind of thing I would need to select. Thanks for the tip -- I'll look into that a little more on google, to find how to set those options, and then try to do another install. I'll post the result here.

darkod
December 22nd, 2009, 09:35 PM
It's not the selected option in this screenshot, but do you see it?

UDon
December 23rd, 2009, 02:06 PM
Hi darkod, in fact I was using the "Erase and use whole disk" option, and still all my old settings, including desktop items, tray items, etc were popping up.

But after spending two days swearing at my PC (an important part of the fix!) I finally worked out what the problem was.